Lagoon Bay in Lithuania situated in the northern part of Juodkrantė village is called the Amber Bay. The name was derived from the amber mining works based here in the nineteenth century. In 1855, when deepening lagoon bottom for navigation near Juodkrantės, workers discovered amber in the sludge. Soon various businesses were interested in this discovery. The first, who started the organised excavation of mud from the bottom of the lagoon for amber was ship-owner, Wilhelm Stantien. After the merchants of Danzig joining, the company of amber excavation “V. Stantien and M. Becker” was established. Increasing company’s amber business. Spacious barracks for workers were built. A ship repair factory was opened and port embankment was built and equipped in the northern part of Juodkrantės.

Dud to the hard winters in the region amber excavation works were carried out only in summer. The amber excavated from the lagoon’s bottom was cleaned and separated from impurities. Between 1860 and 1890, the yearly average excavated was approx. 75 thousand kilograms of amber. During the 30 years working in Amber Bay area 2.250 tons of amber was excavated from the bottom of the Curonian Lagoon. Besides the raw amber collected, archeological amber was also found from the Neolithic Period (3rd century BC). These finds were in the collection of Professor R. Klebs, also known as the Juodkrantė Amber Treasure. It was composed of more than 400 amber jewelry pieces, and particularly valuable human and animal amber figurines. Learn more about Amber and the finds at Amber Gallery-Museum, Nida, Neringa, Lithuania
www.ambergallery.lt

NIDA CULTURE AND TOURISM INFORMATION CENTER “AGILA”
Taikos str. 4, LT-93121, Neringa, Nida, Lithuania
www.visitneringa.com

Lithuania Tourism http://www.lithuania.travel

Unravel Travel TV on You Tube www.youtube.com/UnravelTravelTV
Unravel Travel TV Twitter @UnraveltravelTV
Unravel Travel TV Website www.unraveltravel.eu
Unravel Travel TV Snapchat traveltv
#UnravelTravelTV #UnravelTravel #TravelTV